Carrick Rangers 0
Cliftonville 1
League (Sports Direct Premiership)

Carrick Rangers
0 - 1

League (Sports Direct Premiership)
Friday, January 26th, 2024
Loughview Leisure Arena
Attendance: 715
7:45 PM Kick-off

None. Odhrán Casey (90+4)

Team Managers
Stuart King
Jim Magilton

Starting Eleven
Ross Glendinning
Ben Buchanan-Rolleston
Kurtis Forsythe
Reece Glendinning
Steven Gordon
Lewis MacKinnon
Albert Watson
David Cushley
Andy Mitchell
Danny Gibson
Nedas Maciulaitis
David Odumosu
Odhrán Casey
Jonny Addis
Luke Turner
Shea Kearney
Chris Curran
Ronan Doherty
Sean Stewart
Rory Hale
Joe Gormley
Ronan Hale

Ben McCauley
Mark Surgenor
Kyle Cherry
Joe Crowe
Curtis Allen
Emmett McGuckin
James Teelan
Nathan Gartside
Conor Pepper
Luke Kenny
Shea Gordon
Stephen McGuinness
Ben Wylie
Ryan Corrigan

James Teelan for David Cushley (68)
Joe Crowe for Andy Mitchell (71)
Curtis Allen for Danny Gibson (83)
Kyle Cherry for Nedas Maciulaitis (83)
Shea Gordon for Chris Curran (71)
Ryan Corrigan for Joe Gormley (85)

Albert Watson (80)
Rory Hale (58)

Red Cards
None. None.
Match Officials

Tony Clarke (Referee)
George Argyropoulos & Octavian George Neacsu (Assistants)
Lee Tavinder (Fourth Official)

Match Report

A last-gasp winner from Odhrán Casey denied a well-drilled Rangers side a share of the spoils.

Albert Watson was the only change from the team that claimed a 2-0 victory at Coleraine six days prior; he took the place of the injured Cameron Stewart while new signing James Teelan made the bench alongside Joe Crowe who returned from suspension.

It was the Reds who started the brighter of the two teams as ex-Carrick player Jonny Addis first drove a shot past the far post from the edge of the box before Rory Hale was denied by Ross Glendinning when in on goal; the Carrick ‘keeper saving his shot with his foot.

At the other end, Danny Gibson cut in from the left and got a strike on target that was punched away by visiting goalkeeper David Odumosu.

On the stroke of half time, a Cliftonville corner-kick fell for Luke Turner only a matter of yards from goal but his effort was blocked by Reece Glendinning.

After the break, Andy Mitchell’s cross into the box was sent looping up into the air off the head of Sean Stewart and when Odumosu came to collect he missed the ball completely, but Steven Gordon was not able to get to it ahead of Ronan Doherty for what would have been a tap in.

A great chance then fell the way of Ronan Hale as Chris Curran’s low cross from the right found the striker eight yards from goal in the middle of the box, but his shot was superbly blocked by Albert Watson before Shea Kearney’s follow up attempt hit the outside of the near post.

Opportunities kept coming for both sides; Gibson held the ball up well before seeing a powerful shot spilled by Odumosu while at the other end, Glendinning made an important block from Joe Gormley’s shot ahead of clearing the danger.

Minutes later, Ronan Hale sent a free-kick narrowly wide of the mark from a central position just over twenty yards out.

As the contest entered its dying moments and it looked as though the ‘Gers were going to pick up a point for their efforts, the Reds found the winning goal in the final minute of injury time.

Stewart’s free-kick towards the back post was met by the run of Casey who headed in from six yards out to spark jubilant celebrations in the away end, leaving Carrick with no time to go in search of a response as they suffered defeat in cruel fashion.

Match report written by Ryan Clarke (Official Club Website)

Squad Statistics (as at January 26th, 2024)

2023-24 All Time
Ross Glendinning (GK)30 29 - 69 -
Ben Buchanan-Rolleston21 17 - 22 -
Kurtis Forsythe21 2811172
Reece Glendinning28 2821324
Steven Gordon30 16 - 742
Lewis MacKinnon20 171171
Albert Watson38 19 - 19 -
David Cushley34 31710422
Andy Mitchell31 14 - 494
Danny Gibson28 33143314
Nedas Maciulaitis24 324488
Joe Crowe (sub)25 262262
Kyle Cherry (sub)30 22222222
Curtis Allen (sub)35 3084516
James Teelan (sub)21 1 - 1 -

League Table (as at January 26th, 2024)

Pld W D L +/- Pts
1. Linfield 26 21 2 3 +33 65
2. Larne 27 19 7 1 +39 64
3. Cliftonville 26 19 3 4 +44 60
4. Glentoran 24 12 5 7 +23 41
5. Crusaders 26 12 5 9 +14 41
6. Carrick 27 9 3 15 -23 30
7. Glenavon 25 9 2 14 -13 29
8. Coleraine 26 8 5 13 -19 29
9. Loughgall 25 8 4 13 -10 28
10. Dungannon 26 6 6 14 -10 24
11. Ballymena 26 5 3 18 -31 18
12. Newry City 26 3 3 20 -47 12