Larne 2
Carrick Rangers 0
League (Sports Direct Premiership)


2 - 0

Carrick Rangers

League (Sports Direct Premiership)
Friday, October 20th, 2023
Inver Park
Attendance: 1,575
7:45 PM Kick-off

Tomas Cosgrove (17)
Paul O'Neill (84)

Team Managers
Tiernan Lynch Stuart King

Starting Eleven
Rohan Ferguson
Shaun Want
Cian Bolger
Aaron Donnelly
Kieran Lloyd
Tomas Cosgrove
Dylan Sloan
Levi Ives
Leroy Millar
Paul O'Neill
Lee Bonis
Ross Glendinning
Ben Buchanan-Rolleston
Kurtis Forsythe
Reece Glendinning
Mark Surgenor
Ben Tilney
Kyle Cherry
Joe Crowe
David Cushley
Nedas Maciulaitis
Danny Gibson

Aidan Dowling
Craig Farquhar
Joe Thomson
Mark Randall
Ilijah Paul
Micheal Glynn
Jaziel Orozco
Ben McCauley
Steven Gordon
Callum Mills
Josh Andrews
Curtis Allen
Emmett McGuckin
Jaydyn Withers

Jaziel Orozco for Kieran Lloyd (69)
Joe Thomson for Leroy Millar (90+1)
Micheal Glynn for Levi Ives (90+1)
Josh Andrews for Kyle Cherry (61)
Emmett McGuckin for Joe Crowe (75)
Curtis Allen for Nedas Maciulaitis (75)
Jaydyn Withers for Ben Tilney (89)

Aaron Donnelly (32)
Shaun Want (65)

Red Cards
None. None.

Match Officials

Tony Clarke (Referee)
George Argyropoulos & Kristian Hanna (Assistants)
Gareth Stewart (Fourth Official)

Match Report

Tomas Cosgrove and Paul O’Neill got the goals that saw Larne victorious at Inver Park.

After a narrow loss to Linfield seven days prior, Rangers came into this East Antrim Derby looking to recapture the form that had seen them win four consecutive fixtures prior to that defeat.

Lewis MacKinnon missed out through Covid as Ben Buchanan-Rolleston took his place in the defence while boss Stuart King rested Curtis Allen in favour of the legs of Kyle Cherry in midfield.

It was an even affair in the early stages; Ross Glendinning parrying a long-range effort from Shaun Want while at the other end, David Cushley blazed a volley well off target from a promising position on the edge of the area.

The hosts, though, would make the breakthrough on seventeen minutes as Levi Ives’ infield pass found Cosgrove who strode forward before firing a shot into the corner of the net that left Glendinning rooted to the spot.

Rangers thought they had responded just after the half hour mark when Reece Glendinning’s free-kick was converted by striker Danny Purkis only for the celebrations of the travelling support to be cut short by the assistant referee’s offside flag.

Further chances fell the way of the Inver Reds before the half was out with O’Neill’s effort from eighteen yards curling just past the upright before midfielder Leroy Millar swiped at the ball – missing his attempted shot – when it broke to him at the back post.

Tiernan Lynch’s men were in control in the second period as they retained the ball well and really should have doubled their advantage when Millar’s cross was somehow headed over the top by the unmarked Lee Bonis from six yards.

For the visitors, a Purkis shot from a narrow angle inside the penalty area, that was comfortably gathered by ‘keeper Rohan Ferguson, was the closest they came to a goal.

Larne sealed the result with six minutes of normal time remaining.

A short corner routine saw the ball played to Aaron Donnelly who, inside the box, had the time and space to drill it low into the danger area where O’Neill got the all-important touch to send it over the line and effectively end the game as a contest.

Match report written by Ryan Clarke (Official Club Website)

Squad Statistics (as at October 20th, 2023)

2023-24 All Time
Ross Glendinning (GK)30 13 - 53 -
Ben Buchanan-Rolleston21 8 - 13 -
Kurtis Forsythe21 1611052
Reece Glendinning28 14 - 1182
Mark Surgenor37 15 - 26711
Ben Tilney26 161994
Kyle Cherry30 12121221
Joe Crowe25 131131
David Cushley34 1658920
Nedas Maciulaitis24 162326
Danny Gibson28 168168
Josh Andrews (sub)19 11 - 13 -
Emmett McGuckin (sub)32 141839
Curtis Allen (sub)35 1543012
Jaydyn Withers (sub)18 6 - 6 -

League Table (as at October 20th, 2023)

Pld W D L +/- Pts
1. Linfield 13 11 1 1 +18 34
2. Cliftonville 13 8 2 3 +23 26
3. Larne 13 7 5 1 +18 26
4. Crusaders 12 7 3 2 +18 24
5. Glentoran 12 6 2 4 +8 20
6. Coleraine 12 6 2 4 -3 20
7. Loughgall 12 4 3 5 -4 15
8. Carrick 13 4 1 8 -18 13
9. Newry City 12 3 1 8 -19 10
10. Dungannon 12 1 5 6 -9 8
11. Glenavon 12 2 1 9 -18 7
12. Ballymena 12 2 0 10 -14 6